The Story of Egyptian Heart from Author Kathryn Meyer Griffith


I am blessed to have veteren author – Kathryn Meyer Griffith blogging with me today.  Kathryn, thank you for joining us.  The story of how Egyptian Heart has come to be in it’s current form is as interesting as the story itself.  Congratulations on the release and on finding a new forum for your voice in e-publishing.

Let me start with this: I have always loved ancient Egyptian stories since I was a child. I wrote one of my first school papers at around eleven years old in pencil on the ancient Egyptians after dragging home an armful of musty smelling books from the library. I don’t recall exactly why I loved this particular time period and the people that lived in it but it might have had something to do with the movies The Ten Commandments (I was raised a Catholic), the horror mummy movies of the 1960’s and the early TV shows on Nefertiti and Cleopatra. I just had this affinity for the period.

It was February 1994 (I noted it on the outside of the manila folder where I keep a book history on each novel) when I began Egyptian Heart. Originally I called it The Cursed Scarab. Later, I retitled it Egyptian Heart because I wanted it to more reflect the romance tale it had become.

My agent, who’d sold four earlier novels for me to Zebra Books told me about a new romantic horror line that Silhouette was starting called the Shadows Line. They wanted to tap into the darker romantic paranormal market.

She wanted me to branch out so I wrote two manuscripts for the Silhouette Shadows Line or tried to.  Egyptian Heart and Shadow Road. To make a long story short, Silhouette Shadows turned both down.  

After that my agent dropped me. Ah, the life of a writer.

So, then life (as it has many times in my 39 year writing career), family and job problems, and my other novels (I was into murder mysteries for years and sold two to Avalon Books), got in the way and Egyptian Heart and Shadow Road went into drawer hibernation until 2004, when I rediscovered them, dug them out, rewrote them. Sometimes, I’ve found, a book left alone in a dark cubbyhole ages like good wine. (Or sometimes it just turns to vinegar.)

Egyptian Heart has had a very long history. Simply put, it’s a romantic time travel paranormal romance set in the ancient times of Nefertiti and her heretic Pharaoh Akhenaton.  It’s more romance than history, though I did a lot of research in 1994… originally for my 1994 Zebra horror paperback The Calling. I thought: why waste all this hard work for research on just one novel? So I also used it for Egyptian Heart and an erotic short story, The Nameless One, one that Zebra had placed in their 1994 horror anthology Dark Seductions

The new cover for Egyptian Heart by Dawne Dominique is amazingly beautiful and Kim Richards was my editor. Thank you both.

So from a child’s love of ancient Egypt to the finished book, it’s been a long journey and goes to show all you writer’s out there that, yes, persistence does sometimes win out.  And a good book never dies. It just ages like wine in a dark drawer.

I hope you’ll give Egyptian Heart a look and a read. The best way to describe it is through its blurb and so here it is:  

Maggie Owen is a beautiful, spirited Egyptologist, but lonely. Even being in Egypt on a grant from the college she teaches at to search for an undiscovered necropolis she’s certain lies below the sands beyond the pyramids of Gizah doesn’t give her the happiness she’d hoped it would.

There’s always been and is something missing. Love.

Then her workmen uncover Ramose Nakh-Min’s ancient tomb and an amulet from his sarcophagus hurls her back to 1340 B.C – where she falls hopelessly in love with the man she was destined to be with, noble Ramose, who faithfully serves the heretic Pharaoh Akhenaton and his queen Nefertiti.

She’s fallen into perilous times with civil war threatening Egypt. She’s been mistaken for one of Ramose’s runaway slaves and with her light hair, jinn green eyes and fair skin she doesn’t fit in. Some say she’s magical and evil. Ramose’s favorite, Makere, tries to kill her.

The people, angry the Pharaoh has set his Queen aside and forced them to worship one god are rising up against him.

Maggie’s caught dangerously in the middle.

In the end, desperately in love, will she find a way to stay alive and with Ramose in ancient Egypt–and to make a difference in his world and history?

Because Maggie has finally found love. ***

                                                                 Thank you all! Kathryn Meyer Griffith

E-mail me at rdgriff@htc.net  I love to hear from my readers.

Eternal Press buy link: http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615724437

 You Tube Video Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cogCNYKzPqc 

13 responses

  1. Loved the interview. And I love the blurb on the book. I will definitely be taking a look at it. Thank you for saying that persistence does mean something…I have been wanting to write since age 12..finally taking the plunge and sent in a ms at age 41 almost two weeks ago.

    I will persist.

    August 18, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    • That’s so great, Nichelle! LIve the dream and keep trying. Kathryn’s story has inspired me.

      Fingers crossed for you!

      August 18, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  2. Great interview, Casea and Ms. Griffith! The only Egyptian history I know is from Indiana Jones and the Mummy movies, but I’m a history buff and I’ve been to Egypt. This sounds like a great book and now goes on my TBR list! Thanks so much for your story.

    August 18, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  3. Oh wow, this novel sounds like something I would love–I have to read this story!!!!
    Also, wonderful interview!

    August 18, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    • Brenda – I know I love this time of history and it’s not a time period that gets written about very often.

      August 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  4. Thanks, Jenna. It doesn sound like a wonderful love story.

    August 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  5. You’re right, Casea. This time period doesn’t get written about very often–and it is such a rich time in our history.

    August 18, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  6. THis is the author, Kathryn Meyer Griffith…Thank you Casea for having me today on your blog! Makes it nice because it’s my Birthday today, Aug. 18. (I won’t tell how old I am! Ha, Ha.) I will say when it comes to persistence, all of you must read my other backstory essays THE STORY OF WITCHES, THE STORY OF VAMPIRE BLOOD…and lastly, Why I Wrote The Heart of the Rose relating the origins and reincarnations of 10 of my older books…going back…39 YEARS! Between June 2010 and July 2012 ten of my old Zebra and Leisure paperbacks (totally rewritten) will all be out again – and ALL in e-books for the first time ever!!!) Just remember Egyptian Heart is more romance than history. I’m thrilled it’s out again. Warmly, Kathryn Meyer Griffith rdgriff@htc.net http://www.myspace.com/kathrynmeyergriffith http://www.authorsden.com/kathrynmeyergriffith

    August 18, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    • Happy Birthday, Kathryn! Thanks for being her with us today.

      August 18, 2011 at 4:45 pm

  7. Casea,
    This is the author, Kathryn Meyer Griffith. Thank you for having me on your blog. Jenna: Egyptian Heart, remember, is more romance than history. I will also just say that in reply to Nichelle, persistence does pay off. I’ve been writing for 39 years and have had many ups and downs. Egyptian Heart is relatively new compared to my 1984 novel THE HEART OF THE ROSE…began 39 years ago! Now all of my older (going back 27 years) out-of-print novels from Zebra and Leisure will all be reissued (rewritten, of course, with great new covers and all in e-books for the first time ever besides print) between June 2010 and July 2012. A lot of work but a labor of love. I also have backstories to 3 other of my books: THE STORY OF WITCHES; THE STORY OF VAMPIRE BLOOD, where I mention Dean Koontz, who actually helped me get an agent, and WHY I WROTE THE HEART OF THE ROSE. Now those have real stories to them! Warmly, KMG http://www.myspace.com/kathrynmeyergriffith http://www.authorsden.com/kathrynmeyergriffith

    August 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

  8. Great interview! I love romances set back in ancient Egypt with just enough history to seem authentic but not overkill. I want a love story, not a history book, so this sounds like it’s up my alley.

    I also enjoyed hearing about Ms. Griffith’s journey as a writer. She proves that the road to writing and publication is a long and twisting one that keeps on our toes, but that persistence does often pay in the end.

    August 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    • This journey is not for those that give up easily. That’s for sure. Thanks, Lisa!

      August 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  9. D'Ann

    Great interview! Egyptian settings are certainly different and interesting, one I’ll check out!

    August 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

