Author Interview with Lisa Kumar


Okay gang, I am super excited to have my good friend and critque partner here with me today. I love this lady so much.

Lisa, thanks for joining me. Congratulations on your upcoming release, Bound by the Mist!

Can you tell us about the story?

L: Thanks for having me on your blog, Casea! Bound by the Mist is my first full-length novel and is a fantasy romance. It weighs in around 97,000 words and was the first story I wrote. As such, it’s undergone extensive edits and revisions.  I feared I’d never be done with those!

C: I know you’ve worked hard on this story and as a reader I enjoyed it so much.

L: Thanks! The basic storyline is this: When a human woman finds herself in a foreign dimension, she must struggle to discover the truth of her arrival, all the while falling in love with the Elvin prince who conspires to bind her to him.

Our heroine is played by Cal Warner, a down-to-earth college student who has a few secrets buried in her past. Of course, there has to be a handsome hero. That role is fulfilled by Relian, a somewhat reserved but supremely hot Elvin prince.

 C: Looking back over all of the intimate moments you’ve created between characters, which scene would you most like to experience for yourself? What makes it so alluring?

L: There’s a waterfall scene that I love. This is where they experience a truly life-changing kiss that shows all the possible paths of their life.

C: Who doesn’t love a life-changing kiss? That’s what romance is all about, right? Which sub-genres of romance do you write in and why?

L: Fantasy romance because I love books that take me to foreign worlds and other dimensions.

C: What are you currently working on?

L: I’m working out a rough storyline for Maggie’s book. She is Cal’s friend from Bound by the Mist. Knowing Maggie, she’ll take everyone for a ride, as she’s quite the character.

C: You know I’m anxiously awaiting that story which I think will be a slam-dunk! I loved Maggie from the first book and in some scenes she really steals the show. Cal and Relian are sweet and romantic, but Maggie is a firecracker. I can’t wait to see what you have in store for her.

L:I’m so glad you loved Maggie. I wanted her and Cal to each be very different people–both lovable but in completely different ways. I think I succeeded.
Lol, it was a struggle to rein in Maggie at times. She   is a scene stealer, with her sense of humor and fiery personality. And I hope her story will be as memorable as Relian and Cal’s. In some ways, I think it will be more so.

Do you have any writing quirks?

L: If I become truly stuck and the words won’t flow, I try writing in a notebook. Just the feel of a pen in my hand seems to break through that rut.

C: What gets you into the mood to write?

L: Music often lights a fire under me when nothing else will.

C: Any words of advice to aspiring authors?

L: Don’t give up, but do keep honing your craft.

C: And finally, is there anything you would like to share?

L: Yes, I’ll share the blurb from Bound by the Mist.

A magic that’s fading

Relian has lived a life that hasn’t changed in millennia, and he likes it that way. As Prince of the Erian people, he has his conscripted duties. And a human, even one as desirable as Cal, does not fit into them. But as the enemy darkindred knock on the borders and the magic of his people fades, he might just have to find room.

A love that’s binding

College Student Cal Weston spends a good portion of her time trying to keep people from thinking she’s crazy, including herself. And with good reason. But her carefully constructed reality is turned upside down when she discovers that Relian, the seductive Elvin prince who has been starring in her sensuous fantasies, isn’t merely a myth and his magical kingdom really exists. Now she’s bound to an elf and stuck in a land where no one, least of all Relian, is willing to spill any answers about the truth of her arrival.

Two people, two worlds meet in the mist

Even as love grows between them, can they lay aside their differences to embrace a life together?

Well, thanks for interviewing me, Casea!

You are welcome anytime!

Lisa can be found at the following spots: Blog, Facebook, Facebook Fan Page, Twitter, Amazon Author Page

Her published titles include: Captive (short fantasy romance); Through the Rabbit Hole (fantasy romance novella); Fey Marked (short fantasy romance); Santa for Christmas (short fantasy romance)  All titles can be found at Amazon and B&N.

22 responses

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who breaks out the pen and paper. I have a spiral notebook for each book for notes, outlines and so on. Great Interview!

    January 20, 2012 at 5:19 am

    • So glad you’re a kindred spirit of pen and paper, lol! Thanks for stopping by, Lia.

      January 20, 2012 at 10:25 am

  2. Great interview. As an aspiring writer, I write down in a notebook my characters traits, likes/dislikes, motivation, etc. I refer back to that notebook alot.

    Congratulations on the release.

    Marika

    January 20, 2012 at 7:15 am

    • I find when I put a pen to paper, it frees up my muse. I also keep character notes jotted down on paper. Thanks for stopping by, Marika!

      January 20, 2012 at 10:27 am

  3. Great, informative interview, Casea and Lisa! Lots I didn’t know! Bound by the Mists sounds like the book to curl up with on a romantic spring night–I bet magic would occur! Congratulations on your impending release, Lisa! Best of luck. 🙂

    January 20, 2012 at 9:45 am

    • Thanks, Jenna! I hope people find the story magical, lol! But I’ll settle for them just liking it.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      January 20, 2012 at 10:29 am

  4. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham

    Great interview, ladies! You’re both so talented! Congrats on the release!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

  5. Awesome interview! Congrats!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:24 am

  6. Get interview, you two.
    I am so excited for the release of Bound By Mist. Your story sounds absolutely amazing!!!!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:29 am

    • Thanks, Brenda! Lol, I think you’re the most ardent fan of Bound by the Mist! I just hope if you read it, it doesn’t disappoint. Our stories our like our babies–we send them out into the world and hope they don’t fall on their face!

      January 20, 2012 at 10:32 am

  7. Sounds great! I love the notebook idea. Sometimes I will open a blank file and just start typing. Somehow it makes the words flow easier than starting inside my WIP file, with all that weight and expectation 🙂

    January 20, 2012 at 10:34 am

    • I know what you mean exactly, Amber! Sometimes I just have to give myself permission to write–even if it’s crap. I normally find a few gems buried in the sand. Those gems really help guide me when I’m feeling lost.

      January 20, 2012 at 11:14 am

  8. Love your fresh ideas! BTW, when I get stuck, I just email a crit partner who can unplug the creative jam in my brain! Best wishes on your book!!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

    • Thanks for the kind words, Sheri! Lol, I like your way of unplugging creative jams. I often don’t seek help when I should.

      January 20, 2012 at 11:16 am

  9. Great job with the interview. I’d use paper and pen if only I could read my writing afterwards.

    January 20, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • Lol, I understand that problem, Ella!

      January 21, 2012 at 12:33 am

  10. Congrats on the upcoming release! I hope you make many sales. Great interview!

    January 20, 2012 at 7:41 pm

  11. Thanks, Stacey!

    January 21, 2012 at 12:34 am

  12. Thanks for being here Lisa – You are welcome anytime.

    January 21, 2012 at 2:58 am

    • Aww, thanks so much for being a great interviewer and host, Casea! You’re always welcome on my blog, too. LOL, I can’t promise you much traffic, but I’ll pimp your post anyway I can.

      January 21, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

