Contest Giveaway with Skye Warren: When Coincidences Collide


Glad to have you, Skye.

Thanks so much to Casea for having me here!

Sometimes I find it so crazy that a small coincidence, just a trick of fate, can lead to something meaningful. When I was eleven years old, I was flipping through those coupon books with my mom and found an introductory summer program for martial arts. I knew absolutely nothing about karate or any of that, but I was bored and my mom agreed.

I loved it! It challenged me physically and mentally (though I didn’t think of that way then, I just thought it was fun ).  From there I went on to train for the next seven years, earning my black belt along the way. I also trained and worked as an instructor in the school, something which gave me confidence and life experience. My instructor, my school, the community of other students – all of it shaped my middle school and high school years.

It was just a small thing, finding a coupon on a rainy day, but what an impact it’s had on my life!

A similar chance encounter was the inspiration for my martial arts romance, Below the Belt. A lot of my story ideas start out as a what-if question. What if a guy were to have sex with a random girl. Neither of them care about each other. Neither of them are interested in pursuing a relationship (yet). What would it take to turn that into a romance?

From there, the rest of the story fell into place. Because it turns out that guy is a martial artist, gunning for gold in a national championship so that he can win sponsorship money to start his own school. And that woman? She’s got a martial art past of her own, one she’s trying to leave behind. Neither of them want to want each other, but sparks will fly.

In this scene, the hero and heroine are engaged in said anonymous hook-up. It’s not supposed to mean anything, or matter. It’s only sex.

“Who are you, really?” she whispered.

“I’m no one,” he murmured, his face buried in her silky soft hair. “No one special.” It was the truth. He’d grown up too poor and too stupid to be anyone. No matter how hard he fought, he was just another loser from Podunk, Nowhere.

“Oh yeah?” she challenged softly. “A two time national medalist and forerunner for the male heavyweight competition is nobody?”

Abe lifted his head.

“Yeah, I recognized you,” she said.

She didn’t understand. It wouldn’t be enough. Not any of it, not ever. His throat tight, he gave a short shake of his head.

“Oh, Abe,” she said. God, what was that look in her eyes? He wanted to look away from it, but he couldn’t. “You’re someone special. I see it.”

The line wouldn’t come—the one that would make this whole conversation a joke, instead of the truth. He always laughed it off, or fought it off, no matter what came.

Not this time.

She’d come out of nowhere and blindsided him, but he couldn’t figure it out just then. Not with his lust driving him insane. It was like the tunnel vision in the middle of a fight, when he couldn’t hear or even see, but just moved on pure instinct.

“Lie down,” he ordered. “I need to get inside you.” What the hell was wrong with him? He needed to keep it together. His legendary control, his focus, was all shot to hell.

Thankfully, she did lie down on the ballroom carpet, and even better, spread her legs in acceptance. If she hadn’t, he would have been liable to do something stupid—like beg.

He pulled his wallet out of his pants, ripping through it until he found the condom. Tossing the wallet to the floor, he undid his pants and rolled the condom on. He thought he heard something—voices maybe. It didn’t really matter. They wouldn’t come in here.

He just had to fuck her. Everything would be okay if he was in her, feeling her heat, riding her to completion.

They can already feel the attraction, the pull of something deeper, but they aren’t necessarily acknowledging it. There’s no conscious thought that this might be someone they could fall in love with or know better. And even as he knows there’s something different about, that only makes him want to have sex with her more, not step back. Because, when we’re in that turning point, all we can do is hold on to what we know…until all hell breaks loose.

If you’d like to read one, Below the Belt is available at the major online retailers. Plus, one commenter will win a copy of Below the Belt! Just drop in and share one time when a coincidence led to something greater for you – maybe how you met your husband or fell into a great job. Or if you can’t think of anything (because sometimes it’s hard to be put on the spot!) just say hi.

Thanks!

Skye Warren

Below the Belt

http://www.skyewarren.com/books/below-the-belt

Black belt Abe Montgomery is focused on winning gold. But at nationals, Abe meets Paris, a beautiful, mysterious woman. Paris Rivera has sworn off men and martial arts. Her black belt cost her more than years of dedication and sweat. The fight of Abe’s life looms ahead, with his dreams of owning a school and his future with Paris hanging in the balance. He may dominate on the mats, but he’s fallen hard for her. When the time comes for them to part, he may not be able to let her go.

BELOW THE BELT is a 30,000 word novella of erotic romance featuring explicit sex and graphic language. Not for those under 18 years of age or those uncomfortable with the subject matter.

16 responses

  1. Pingback: My Book Boyfriend Blog Hop | Skye Warren

  2. lisagk

    I guess you could call this a coincidence. I happened to be working an extra job @ Christmas, and a previous boss of mine just happened to come shopping in my department, and just so happened was looking to hire someone for her office and ta da, I got a new and better job for the new year.
    Thanks for a look at your book, sounds like a great read. lisagk(at)yahoo(dot)com

    February 1, 2012 at 12:53 am

  3. For me it was when I got the job to work for the Dallas Stars hockey team. I was at a game one night and I saw a girl that I knew from high school. Her two older brothers and I were tight growing up (she was the younger, bratty sister) and she asked me what I was doing now and I told her and she asked me if I would be interested in working for the Stars on game night. I said sure why not. I’m a hockey ho; free admission to hockey games. Little did I know that the meeting would led to the best 5 years of my life; meet some wonderful hockey players, really got to know the ends and outs of a sports franchise and meet my BFF while working.

    Sadly, I gave up it up when I married my hubby but when there are two games a week, playoffs and public appearances, I missed my boyfriend/husband. It was a great experience for me and I miss it still.

    Marika Weber
    maw1725@gmail.com

    February 1, 2012 at 6:41 am

    • I knew there was a reason why I loved you Marika — My prized possession is a picture with the Stanley Cup 1999 at Pat Verbeek’s party. Love the Stars

      February 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      • Casea, there are alot of reasons why we love each other. 🙂

        Marika

        February 1, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  4. Jennifer Lowery~Author

    Love Abe and love this story! It’s a must read for everyone!

    February 1, 2012 at 7:37 am

  5. Well, I am single so that part I can’t comment on, and I am currently unemployed due to an accident that caused some disabilities/limitations. So I guess I will just say “HI”, lol. Your book sounds really good. I have never practiced martial arts (I am very uncoordinated), but it has always fascinated me.

    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    February 1, 2012 at 8:24 am

  6. OOOO. Maked abs on a cover. Love it.

    Maggie O’Malley/Kitty DuCane.

    February 1, 2012 at 4:08 pm

  7. My girls took karate for a while, that’s my only contact with the sport. But I do have I guess what amounts to a coincidence. Growing up my cousins were in a band and I was a groupie. After I went to college the drummer kept saying “You need to meet R—, he used to play in the band.” I never met the guy until I was hired to direct a show and he was the producer for it. After talking we discovered he’d played several times in my college town and we had lived in the same city for a year (I used to walk by his apartment on my way to work). But finally we did meet. And just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary.

    I’d love to read more of Below the Belt–it sounds like a very sexy read! Maybe hubs will read too!
    1jennajaxon (at) gmail (dot) com

    February 1, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  8. Mary Preston

    It seems that just as I am thinking I have not seen someone for a long time, I then see them everywhere.

    BELOW THE BELT looks amazing.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    February 1, 2012 at 5:48 pm

  9. Your book sounds amazing!
    The night I met my husband–it was New Year’s Eve 21 years ago–I had just broken up with my then long-time boyfriend. I was very upset, but my best friend twisted my arm and made me go out with her and her boyfriend. I met my husband that night, lol. He was my BF’s boy friend’s friend.

    February 1, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  10. Great background that leads into your book! May you have many sales!

    February 1, 2012 at 7:58 pm

  11. Skye – thanks for stopping by today! We had a fun time.

    February 1, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  12. Coincidence and twists of fate. I love hearing stories like this. And we all have them, don’t we? Somewhere, at some point, something touches our lives that’s just too bizarre and out of the realm of normal.

    Great teaser .
    Sherifredricks(at)charter(dot)net

    February 1, 2012 at 9:20 pm

  13. I can’t really think of any coincidences that have really happened to me. I lead a pretty dull life mostly. 😦 So I guess I’ll agree with the other commenters and just say your book does sound really good!!! Love your cover!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com

    February 2, 2012 at 12:57 am

  14. D'Ann Linscott-Dunham

    Wow, that’s really neat about your martial arts! Isn’t it funny how our lives go along their paths?
    Great post!

    February 2, 2012 at 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

