Greetings Earthday Blog Hoppers!


The Definition of Priceless

Priceless – Invaluable; having incalculable worth

Casea’s definition – Something that can’t be replaced if broken or consumed

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have too much in my possession that is priceless. No ancient artifacts or precious gems.

The things in my life that are priceless – my family. And my world.

This day and age we all know what ‘going green’ or ‘carbon footprint’ is, but do we really see it as our responsibility to maintain?

If you’re like me you probably think what’s one more person throwing a plastic water bottle in the trash. And don’t get me started on the plastic bags from Wal-Mart and Target. If you don’t throw those puppies away they could take over your house. Geez, those things accumulate.

Well imagine hundreds of millions of people with hundreds of plastic bags then you begin to get an idea of how truly devastating to the environment one little person can be.

And the truth is – It takes so little to make a big difference. To conserve energy and water. To give just a little extra effort to protect our environment. To find out more you can go to Earthday.org for all kinds of projects and ideas.

Money, Time and Effort – How much can you afford to protect something priceless?

 

I’m giving away an e-book copy of any of my stories. Just comment below for a chance to win.

41 responses

  1. Tina B

    I never recycled until my son learned about it in school and came home talking about how much we are killing the earth. I even went on field trips with him to a marsh and a beach. The kids had a lot of fun. Also, the state I now live in does offer recycling, whereas, the state I am from (at least the area) does not really. You have to take them to the city. I try to inform friends and family, but they all kind of think it is not a big deal. 😦 I guess I will be reminding them again.
    Thank you for the giveaway, Casea!

    April 19, 2012 at 11:44 pm

  2. Michele H

    I have just recently discovered your work and love your writing! The beauty of ebooks is that I can have stacks and stacks of things to be read, yet they do not fill my house with paper that was taken from trees and processed in plants that pollute. Thank you for the giveway!

    April 20, 2012 at 8:38 am

  3. We got into recycling and now it’s an automatic thing we do. I look forward to exploring your work.

    April 20, 2012 at 8:43 am

  4. JeanP

    Have been recycling for years, I agree about those plastic bags, they are a menace. Thanks for the giveaway.

    April 20, 2012 at 9:21 am

  5. Nina Pierce

    Mr. Nina does the bulk of the grocery shopping. He drives me insane by not using the canvas bags. We’re forever taking the plastic bags back to Wal-Mart to recycle. I’m not living in a state with returnables and it drives me insane the number of plastic and glass bottles in the trash rather than recycled. Recycling is such a simple thing. Oh, sorry, I’m getting off my soapbox now …

    April 20, 2012 at 10:59 am

  6. saukra

    We are huge recyclers. We use canvas bags for shopping. My mom makes reuseable bags by taking plastic grocery bags, cutting them in strips, and then knitting them together. They not only look amazing, but they are so strong–stronger than canvas bags.

    April 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

  7. Every time I accumulate a whole lot of plastic bags and get rid of them, I end up needing one, just one, the very next day. Wouldn’tcha know it? They’re all gone. >=\ They should be banned everywhere. Although they now have those environmentally friendly compostable ones, so there’s hope! =D Happy Earth Day.

    April 20, 2012 at 11:25 am

  8. I was wondering if my small steps made a difference, and happened along pictures of me taken at several conventions over the years. I’m sitting at these tables where everyone has a bottle of water. In front of me is plastic bottle with a blue and white flip top that I bought five years ago. It’s with me in every picture. Seeing those pix made me smile. I wondered how many water bottles have been used between those conventions, that if each person had brought their own, would not have ended up being tossed? I renewed my commitment to always think “BYOB” when heading out the door – anywhere. It’s a small step with farther reaching consequences than we think.

    April 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm

  9. Stephanie

    We not only reuse our glass and plastic water bottles, but use canvas bags to shop and wash any ziplock freezer/sandwich bags until the have holes in! LOL Thats besides recycling any snail mail and newspapers.

    April 20, 2012 at 1:44 pm

  10. Sue Sattler

    I hate those plastic bags, you’re right they will take over a persons house. I take reusable bags with me when I go shopping.

    April 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  11. I have been recycling for years.

    April 20, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  12. Cheryl Lynne

    I recycle glass, bottles ,cardboard., and clothes. I always use canvas bags when I shop. Happy Earth Day!

    April 20, 2012 at 2:18 pm

  13. I recycle, and we have a green bin..I donate clothes that can be used for something else or resold. We only use reusable shopping bags and if we do get any plastic we donate them to Habitat For Humanity since they always need them.

    April 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  14. Rae M.

    We are huge recyclers, and have been for a while! In fact, two years ago my city provided new giant recycle carts insead of the small bins. And it was so needed. We always had to stagger our recycleables because the never fit in the small bin.

    You always wonder how much you’re doing. And because they allow us to keep track, we know that we’ve recycled over 2,000 lbs. of material in less than two years!

    April 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

  15. Happy Earth Day! I think this is something that should be celebrated more often.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

    April 20, 2012 at 8:39 pm

  16. Shelly

    Walmart has a drop off bin to recycle those plastic bags. We save them until we take them to recycle. I agree it doesn’t take long before you have a bunch of those plastic bags!

    April 20, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  17. We are more of a reuse kind of family. We use canvas bags, reuse the plastic ones. We can our food so that we don’t throw away containers. We don’t use plastic food storage bags, instead we use containers. We reuse so many different things.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    April 20, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  18. bn100

    Happy Earth Day! We like to recycle.

    April 20, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  19. booksaver

    My family and I always try and recycle newspapers, plastic and aluminum. It doesn’t take that much time to do it and it’s well worth the effort. Happy Earth Day.

    Linda
    seriousreader at live dot com

    April 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm

  20. Shadow

    My family is slowly working our way threw the recycling. We dont use waterbottles anymore. We put in a water filter. We donate clothes, recycles what bottles we do get. Those plastic bags are a pain in the butt! We just store ours until we find someone that needs them. We do little things. We’re learning. 🙂 Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway! 😉
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    April 20, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  21. Katy Beth McKee

    We reuse our plastic bags when its our week for the produce co-op. We have to divide up into 12 sets of stuff so at least they get reused a time or two.

    April 21, 2012 at 10:49 am

  22. Tamsyn

    We are encouraged to bring our own shopping bags to the supermarket so that we can waive the plastic bags. They give us points which can be exchanged for certain gifts if accummulated to a certain amount. I think it is a great idea! Happy Earth Day!

    April 21, 2012 at 11:07 am

  23. Tracey D

    It took me years to convince my condo association to join a recycling program. They claimed no one would be interested. Finally we got some new board members and have several recyling bins…and they are always filled!

    Happy Earth Day to All

    April 21, 2012 at 11:15 am

  24. kimberleyc

    I am a fanatic about recycling all our trash…am trying to get my family to follow suit. A slow process but we are making progress ( I still go thru the regular trash can and did out all recyclables before emptying into the big can). Also, we use cloth bags for shopping.
    Happy Earth Day everyone!

    April 21, 2012 at 11:30 am

  25. We reuse containers and shopping bags but we also recycle all that our area lets us…we also recycle clothes, books, household items, boxes, plastic bags, etc!

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

    April 21, 2012 at 12:04 pm

  26. Lindsey E

    Recycle most everything and try to remember to bring bags into stores so I am not bringing new ones home.

    April 21, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  27. Joanne B

    Happy Earth Day! We have been recycling for years. I hate those plastic bags. I keep a bunch of canvas bags in the car for when I go shopping.

    April 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm

  28. caitymack

    We are so fortunate that our city has recycle at the curb every week, paper.

    Happy Earth Day

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

    April 21, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  29. caitymack

    We are so fortunate that our city has curbside recycling.

    caity_mack@ yahoo dot com

    April 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm

  30. caitymack

    We are fortunate that our city has curbside recycling.

    Happy Earth Day

    caity_mack@yahoo dot com

    April 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  31. That was a beautiful post! Thanks for the giveaway and Happy Earth Day!

    joderjo402 AT gmail DOT com

    April 21, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  32. Christine

    Happy Earth Day everyone! If we all add one extra eco friendly thing to our lives, we can make a huge difference.

    April 21, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  33. June M.

    I always try to reuse/recycle/repurpose whenever possible. I have water bottles that I refill (which is great cause I drink a lot of water), reusable shopping bags, the florescent type bulbs, etc.
    Thank you for the giveaway!
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

    April 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm

  34. Barbara

    They’ve just started curbside recycling here in my little town…YAY! Happy Earth Day!

    barbbattaglia @ yahoo.com

    April 22, 2012 at 2:24 am

    • Congratulations, Barbara! You are the winner of the ebook.

      April 23, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  35. Mary M.

    We have curbside recycling, and I have recycled for decades. I think people have to remember the whole phrase Reduce, reuse and recycle to make an even bigger difference,

    April 22, 2012 at 6:14 am

  36. Laura K

    Yep I recycle and reuse all the time even in the big city of Chicago. We can all do our part to help the earth!

    April 22, 2012 at 9:08 am

  37. Teresa Kleeman

    I so recycle! I’m constantly digging in the trash where my son forgets to recycle and pull soda can’s out and water bottles. Sometimes I could throttle him, lol I recycle the grocery bags. I take them back to the store to be recycled back for new bags, etc…

    Thanks for sharing today Casea.

    Teresa k.

    April 22, 2012 at 12:23 pm

  38. Donna

    I can’t fathom that politicians, as well as the people who put them in office, have such a hard time understanding the simple concept that we absolutley must care for this planet! I’ll stop there because once I get rolling, it takes me a while to stop. lol
    Thanks,
    Donna
    donnafisk@bellsouth.net

    April 22, 2012 at 5:10 pm

  39. Jessica B

    we’ve been recycling for a long time. I hope that you have a happy earth day!
    jessangil at gmail dot com

    April 22, 2012 at 6:28 pm

  40. Hooray for you for promoting conscientious thinking. I carry around fabric bags and always feel horribly guilty when I somehow fail and end up with a product wrapped in plastic. :/

    April 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

